The chronicles of Vijay and Shankar – Cricbuzz
April 17, 2019
BJP won’t get clear majority: Rakesh Jhunjhunwala –
BJP won’t get clear majority: Rakesh Jhunjhunwala –
April 17, 2019
IPL 2019, SRH vs CSK Live Score: Focus on Dhoni, Warner as toss approaches – Sportstar

” +
var device = “”;
for ( var type in WFClientTypeDef) {
if (window.matchMedia(WFClientTypeDef[type]).matches) {
switch (type) {
case “xlarge”:
device = ‘desktop’;
case “large”:
device = ‘desktop’;
case “medium”:
device = ‘tab’;
case “small”:
device = ‘mobile’;
var writeOnDocument = true;
var skipOnDeviceValue = “[medium, small]”;
var noSkipOnDevice = skipOnDeviceValue.length > 0;
if(noSkipOnDevice) {
if (skipOnDeviceValue.indexOf(“large”) > -1 && ‘desktop’ == device) {
writeOnDocument = false;
if (skipOnDeviceValue.indexOf(“medium”) > -1 && ‘tab’ == device) {
writeOnDocument = false;
if (skipOnDeviceValue.indexOf(“small”) > -1 && ‘mobile’ == device) {
writeOnDocument = false;
if(writeOnDocument) {

‘; $(“#main-container1”).html(dynamicTemplate);
} ajaxCall(API_URL,displayFun);
$(document).on(“click”, “.closebtn”, function(){
setInterval(function () { ajaxCall(API_URL,displayFun); }, 8000); });


◘ Spin into the attack and it will be Shahbaz Nadeem.

End of Powerplay and Chennai Super Kings managed to garner 41 runs.

SIX! First six of the match as Faf du Plessis smacks Khaleel Ahmed over the deep mid-wicket for a maximum. He then follows up with a boundary to give Chennai Super Kings much needed momentum.

◘ Change in bowling as Sandeep Sharma is introduced into the attack.

◘ Interesting battle as Shane Watson and Faf du Plessis are touch struggling to time the ball. A scratchy boundary over the slips by Watson keeps the scorecard ticking. Both openers in search of momentum.

◘ Excellent first over from Bhuvneshwar Kumar as he gives just one run. There is a hint of swing as Bhuvi got the ball to swing into the right-handers and Faf du Plessis is yet to open his account. Khaleel Ahmed will be tempted to have a go. 

◘ Alright we are all set to roll and the Sunrisers Hyderabad players are in a huddle. The umpires walk out and out come the CSK openers – Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson. Bhuvneshwar Kumar will be starting the proceedings for Hyderabad with be Watson on strike. Here we go!

TOSS UPDATE:  Suresh Raina has won the toss and Chennai Super Kings will bat first.


Dhoni is not part of the playing XI tonight and it will be only the fourth time that the former India skipper has missed a game for Chennai Super Kings.


Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Suresh Raina(c), Sam Billings(w), Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Karn Sharma, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Imran Tahir

Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): David Warner, Jonny Bairstow(w), Kane Williamson(c), Vijay Shankar, Yusuf Pathan, Deepak Hooda, Rashid Khan, Shahbaz Nadeem, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sandeep Sharma, K Khaleel Ahmed


◘ Kedar Jadhav, over the years, has emerged as a handy utility player and is likely to remain in a floating role in England| World Cup 2019: What Kedar Jadhav brings to Team India


◘ There is still some time to go for the toss. In the meantime, Rishabh Pant and Ambati Rayudu have been named standbys in India’s World Cup squad. Read the full story here| Rayudu, Pant named standbys in Team India World Cup squad


◘ Tonight will be Vijay Shankar’s first IPL match of the season after being named in India’s World Cup squad. Here’s a quick look at Shankar’s meteoric rise from ODI debut to World Cup team in less than four months| Rise and rise of Vijay Shankar


Sunrisers Hyderabad, No. 6 on the points table, will hope to snap its losing streak when it runs into Chennai Super Kings in Hyderabad on Wednesday.

Read our correspondent V.V. Subrahmanyam’s’s preview:

Sunrisers takes on in-form CSK with time running out

Sunrisers Hyderabad, sulking with wounded pride after losing the last three games, should change gears when it takes on the formidable Chennai Super Kings in the IPL 2019 league phase at the Rajiv Gandhi Stadium here on Wednesday night.

David Warner and Jonny Bairstow have been Hyderabad’s batting linchpins so far but captain Kane Williamson would hope to come good on Wednesday, especially after a disappointing outing against the Delhi Capitals.

Hyderabad’s middle-order has not clicked this season, despite the team management shuffling the batting around. It needs to win against Chennai to avoid slipping down further in the points table.

READ: Team India for World Cup 2019: Karthik, Jadeja, Shankar in squad, Pant misses out

If it was the experienced trio of Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan and Deepak Hooda which failed to come good in the earlier matches, the exciting young talent Abhishek Sharma, Ricky Bhui and Vijay Shankar too disappointed by not rising to the occasion in the previous game.

The onus is clearly once again on the top three to fire and set the platform for the others to chip in with handy contributions on a wicket which is said to be a typical T-20 strip.

In bowling, Sunrisers has little to worry with left-arm pacer Khaleel Ahmed being a certainty after his impressive spell against Delhi the previous night. With Bhuvneshwar Kumar too regaining his confidence and the spin duo of leggie Rashid Khan and left-armer Abhishek doing a decent job, it would hope to test the M.S. Dhoni-led batting line-up.


On the other hand, nothing seems to be going wrong for CSK despite early setbacks in batting. The inspirational presence of Dhoni in the lower-order has been the most decisive factor which has dented the confidence and morale of the opposition consistently in this edition.

With leg-spinner Imran Tahir at his best and Harbhajan Singh likely to play because of left-handed opener Warner’s, Dhoni may have the liberty to experiment if he wants to.

By all means, Sunrisers needs a stand-out performance to surprise the favourites on home stretch.

Teams (from):

Sunrisers Hyderabad (From): David Warner, Jonny Bairstow(w), Kane Williamson(c), Ricky Bhui, Vijay Shankar, Deepak Hooda, Abhishek Sharma, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sandeep Sharma, K Khaleel Ahmed, Manish Pandey, Shreevats Goswami, Wriddhiman Saha, Martin Guptill, Shahbaz Nadeem, Yusuf Pathan, Mohammad Nabi, Siddarth Kaul, Shakib Al Hasan, Basil Thampi, Billy Stanlake, T Natarajan

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (c/wk), Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis, Murali Vijay, Kedar Jadhav, Sam Billings, Ravindra Jadeja, Dhruv Shorey, Chaitanya Bishnoi, Rituraj Gaikwad, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, Imran Tahir, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell Santner, Shardul Thakur, Mohit Sharma, KM Asif, Deepak Chahar, N Jagadeesan, Scott Kuggeleijn.

Match starts at 8pm (IST).

(The match will be streamed live on Hotstar)

Comments are closed.